(Fermented) Deviled Eggs

While I was Googling fermenting websites in order to explore recipes and research, I came across several-not many, of recipes for fermenting eggs.  Huh.

Since the cost of eggs skyrocketed, I was hesitant to try, but after testing how many raw eggs would fit in a quart canning jar (not too many), I decided to try.  I received stranger than normal looks from my family…and NO one volunteered to taste test the final product!

The Fermenting for Foodies recipe is:

Author: Emillie
Ingredients
  • 12 hard boiled eggs, peeled
  • ¼ cup of starter (see notes)
  • 1 tbsp non-iodized salt
  • Filtered water to cover (chlorine free)
Instructions
  1. Sterilize a 1 quart jar with boiling water.
  2. Pack with the eggs (and any other flavourings, see below).
  3. Dissolve the salt in ½ cup of water and pour over eggs with the starter. Add more filtered water so that the eggs are covered.
  4. Allow to ferment for 1-3 days somewhere cool.
  5. Store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

I used as 1/4 cup starter, per her site notes, sauerkraut juices.  I did not use 12 eggs, but one more raw egg than had fit in the jar on my trial.  I could have fit 3-4 more steamed eggs!  There was quite a lot more egg shrinkage than I had anticipated!  BTW, I’m now always going to steam my raw eggs as opposed to boiling!

I prepared my fermenting liquid, I combined the salt and starter in the bottom of the jar, then added the eggs, and topped it off with the water.  Since I still had room in the jar, I used a sterile 4 oz. glass baby food jar submerged with the liquid to keep the eggs from bobbing out of the brine.  I shook it all up to mix the ingredients.   In fermenting, keeping the food out of contact with the air is important!  I hand tightened-but not too tight, so that any pressure could release without the potential for breaking the jar or distorting the lid.

I’ve had great success in keeping all of my ferments at an even 65-70 degrees F in the cubboard above my fridge.  I do crack the door open with something (squishy food bag ;) for air flow.  Then, I waited!

The recipe called for a three day ferment.  At the end of the day, I took it out and prepared one for eating.  I was definitely hesitant.

I decided to go another day in fermenting.

The eight year old determined it was good, and I was in agreement.  The only real texture difference that I noticed was the white was a bit more dense.  We discussed that eating them plain really wasn’t all that great, from a Foodie perspective, so we “hid” the ferment in deviled eggs.  My daughter (10 years old) NEVER noticed!

Would I consistently go through a four day ferment every time I wanted to eat boiled eggs? Probably not, but the bigger benefit to the process is a nutrient-dense, probiotic food that positively impacts weight loss through a probiotic meal.

Leave a Reply

