New Food: Chinese Yam

I absolutely love it when bloggers visit my blog because I’m “meeting” many new, amazingly talented people!   With sooo many blogs available, I’m ecstatic when I “see what a visitor is up to” on their own blog, often rewarded with recipes and ideas that will benefit both my blog goals that I can then share with you, my reader!

I’m always intrigued by cuisine of other cultures, since many times they use fresh, healthy ingredients not common in American food markets.  Researching these new to me types of foods and preparation methods often yield great weight loss or health benefits that are less known in America.  This is an exciting part of my research writing for inclusion into my book, Reset Your Weight.

This morning, I visited Tales of Chinese Cooking and Oh my!  Great, simple, and healthy recipes with beautiful photography.  When I’m looking to share recipes and new foods, I’m very particular because my goal is to highlight easy, weight-conscious foods. Tales of Chinese Cooking posted a Chinese Yam with Blueberry Jam recipe and knowing that yams have tremendous healthy and healthy weight benefits, I did a little more research into Chinese yams.

I found a new favorite! Turns out, Chinese yams really help digestion and are loaded with Vitamins A, C, and B’s.  It also has a mucous protein that lowers blood sugar levels.

Tales of Chinese Cooking introduced me to Chinese yams in this fabulously easy recipe that takes 10 minutes!  Now I have yet another super nutritious food that will taste great, stabilize blood sugar (less sugar in the blood means less fat stored in my body), and helps me lose weight using food, not exercise.

Chinese Yam with Blueberry Jam dessert recipe
photo and recipe credit to Tales of Chinese Cooking

Enjoy and get lost in her posts! Taken directly from Tales of Chinese Cooking:

CHINESE YAM WITH BLUEBERRY JAM

  • Prep time: 5 mins
  • Cook Time: 3 mins
  • Total Time: 8 mins
  • Serving Size: 2

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 lb Chinese yam
  • 2 tbsps blueberry jam
  • 1 cup water

STEP BY STEP

  1. Peel the Chinese yam and cut into small round slices. (Tip: The peel and mucilage of Chinese yam may cause skin allergy. Wear gloves when peeling it, or wash your hands right after touching it.)
  2. Pour water into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the yam cubes and boil for about 2 minutes on high heat.
  3. Transfer the cooked yam to a platter.
  4. Spread the blueberry jam on top of the yam pieces when serving.
2 thoughts on “New Food: Chinese Yam

Leave a Reply

