It’s Brutal Out There, But I’m OK With It

I have to be honest: writing a book about losing weight is an awful task to take on, especially if you’re not predisposed to “skinny.” Call it vanity, but, in my past, when I’ve needed encouragement to lose more than a few pounds, I wanted needed to see “success story pictures” of how great everyone looked after following the diet.  It was part of the marketing motivation for me.

I’ve struggled with adding a photo of myself to the blog, for fear of turning someone away just based on how weight loss looks on my body.   I was having a great conversation with a friend yesterday about giving small sized clothing away at the moment when you finally acknowledge to yourself that “size __” isn’t ever going to happen again.  She has weight to lose from multiple pregnancies close together…for many years.  She concluded, “I just gave away all of my size 6 jeans. My body has changed and I need to be happy with size 10.”  Size 6? I thought.  “I’ve NEVER been a size 6. 10 is skinny and fit for me, always has been.”

Everyone has a story.  Writing a book on using fermented foods, bone broth, and content carbohydrates is my story on how these specific “Basic 3” can change how you eat, feel, and lose weight.  I love it. I live it.  I may not be a size 6, but I’m still going to write about how to lose weight and be healthy.  I’ll even share some pics of my journey with you. Sigh. I’m OK with it because these well-researched Basics have changed my life for good.  I’m a work in progress!

This is where I started, back in January.

In August, I took these
In August, I took these “I’m getting serious” pic of where I was at.
One month later, after incorporating all 3 of the Basics into my life! Look at that flat(ter) belly! And those are a smaller size jean!!
One month later, after incorporating all 3 of the Basics into my life! Look at that flat(ter) belly! And those are a smaller size jean!!
October
October
A little success goes a long way :)
A little success goes a long way :)
Leave a Reply

